PDA

View Full Version : YAY! Please wish me luck!!!


Aly
10-28-2007, 01:08 AM
I just found out : this

We are publishing you in our 2007 Photography Anthology




Dear (my full name here),

On behalf of the editing team here at Photography Laureates, we would like to congratulate you for being selected for publication as part of our highly acclaimed photography anthology. As such, you are a finalist for the $6500 prize. As a laureate and talented photographer, you will have access to several networking opportunities aimed at exposing you to the photography community.

Your photograph was selected out of hundreds of competing entries and you will be published along with other talented photographers. Kyrta Reeve and John Warton, our 2 editors, have reviewed your photograph Tropical Rains and have selected it for its composition, structure and illusion of depth:

Tropical Rains





I really hope I win but even if I don't it's still nice...this is the pic I entered.:)

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x144/Gemini2984/MISC%20PIX/sb7.jpg

hozie07
10-28-2007, 01:20 AM
Did they tell you you had to buy the book first?

Aly
10-28-2007, 01:37 AM
Did they tell you you had to buy the book first?

I emailed them back and they said no, only if you want to...why? is it a scam?:(

Laura
10-28-2007, 02:01 AM
good luck Aly I hope its not a scam where they try and get you to buy stuff :( be careful

Aly
10-28-2007, 02:09 AM
good luck Aly I hope its not a scam where they try and get you to buy stuff :( be careful


oh- I wouldn't dare pay for anything-that's why I emailed them...I'm really weary about things like that. I wish I could find some really legitimate contests...

Laura
10-28-2007, 02:15 AM
I wish I could find some really legitimate contests...

They are few and far between aren't they, it seems like everyone is out for money these days.

Aly I found this on the web thought you might want to read it, sounds like they send the same letter out to many people :(
http://www.caedes.net/Zephir.cgi?lib=Board::Topic&id=764332

One good think though is they didn't ask you to buy anything like they did others so maybe they have changed there ways?

Aly
10-28-2007, 02:24 AM
Aly I found this on the web thought you might want to read it, sounds like they send the same letter out to many people :(
http://www.caedes.net/Zephir.cgi?lib=Board::Topic&id=764332

One good think though is they didn't ask you to buy anything like they did others so maybe they have changed there ways?

I doubt it...they said I still qualify but I guess it's a scam?

Laura
10-28-2007, 02:33 AM
I doubt it...they said I still qualify but I guess it's a scam?

I don't know maybe its for real, I have just read alot of bad stuff about them it seems like everyone that sent a photo got the same letter from them but most were asked to buy the book to see there photo published.

Aly
10-28-2007, 02:40 AM
Yeah..I think you're right...:(:(:( Just when I thought I was getting somewhere...
oh well...

Bea
10-28-2007, 03:44 AM
That's such a shame. :( I'm sorry the competition wasn't legitimate. It's a really nice photo though!

hozie07
10-28-2007, 12:06 PM
I'm sorry if I "rained on your parade" I just thought you should know that there might be a possibility that it was a scam . I still love the picture though :).

Aly
10-28-2007, 12:08 PM
I'm sorry if I "rained on your parade" I just thought you should know that there might be a possibility that it was a scam . I still love the picture though :).


Oh no...no worries. I just kind of got a little too excited..I'm ussually more skeptical about things like that.

Rosie
10-28-2007, 12:21 PM
Awww, so sorry to hear this - there are too many scams around these days. :(

How about trying something like this:
http://www.nationalphotoawards.com/index.html It's a monthly contest

Aly
10-28-2007, 12:23 PM
Thanks alot Rosie! I've been searching and searching for as many contests as possible- it doesn't hurt to try.:) The one you sent me seems pretty real...except they claim it's free and then ask for an entry fee.:(..http://www.nationalphotoawards.com/onlinephotocontestentryfeeform.html

Rosie
10-28-2007, 12:27 PM
Thanks alot Rosie! I've been searching and searching for as many contests as possible- it doesn't hurt to try.:) The one you sent me seems pretty real...except they claim it's free and then ask for an entry fee.:(..http://www.nationalphotoawards.com/onlinephotocontestentryfeeform.html

Oh, I didn't see that, sorry. You just can't win can you...

Aly
10-28-2007, 12:28 PM
Oh, I didn't see that, sorry. You just can't win can you...

Yea- it's pretty hard to find a real one..:o I'm still looking for some coming from big companies like kodak,etc...no luck so far..

Rosie
10-28-2007, 12:37 PM
Hmmm, this one:
http://www.competico.com/?affcode=kw94211&cid=884248485&gclid=CPn14bOCso8CFQXnlAodH0lvIA
or
http://www.picture.com/contest/enter.asp
They both look quite real and are free, too. :)

Aly
10-28-2007, 12:54 PM
Hmmm, this one:
http://www.competico.com/?affcode=kw94211&cid=884248485&gclid=CPn14bOCso8CFQXnlAodH0lvIA
or
http://www.picture.com/contest/enter.asp
They both look quite real and are free, too. :)

Thank you Rosie. You're so nice.:) I tried picture.com and it's the same people...wanting you to buy something. The 1st one I'll try although I'm weary. It says two free uploads...that means after that you'd have to paY? I don't think I'm mind paying a small fee if I knew for sure I'd win...but...

I'll try it and see what they say..who knows..

Aly
10-28-2007, 01:42 PM
Ok-so I entered two on this site. I guess I'm suppose to get people to vote...?
You really don't have to because they make you sign up to vote which is really stupid. I give up.
here are the two links

Laura
10-28-2007, 01:53 PM
Hey Aly I found this article that might be worth reading ;)
http://www.photomigrations.com/articles/0509100.htm

Here is another one that was interesting and has a list of legit sites for photography and ways to spot the scammer's.
http://www.forestwander.com/indexcontest.htm

Aly
10-28-2007, 07:33 PM
Hey Aly I found this article that might be worth reading ;)
http://www.photomigrations.com/articles/0509100.htm

Here is another one that was interesting and has a list of legit sites for photography and ways to spot the scammer's.
http://www.forestwander.com/indexcontest.htm

Thanks Laura! I'll check them out now.

Aly
10-28-2007, 08:34 PM
Ok...so I looked over the Forest Wonder link and looked at their recommended sites. I looked at all but this one really stood out: http://www.naturesbestmagazine.com/pdf/OceanViews08Guidelines.pdf This is going to sound silly but I am clueless when it comes to photography talk-if anyone can help me decipher the guidelines on this I would really appreciate it!!!Natures Best has alot more contest but this contest will really fit this picture. The deadline is in December so I'll be sending it in soon. Hopefully it's strong enough..:rolleyes:

Thanks to everyone for keeping me motivated.:)


I also have this one which is a mountain shot in Romania a year ago. Not the best camera but it came out pretty nice.
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x144/Gemini2984/MISC%20PIX/Picture276.jpg

Laura
10-28-2007, 08:50 PM
I am going to look at the guidelines, thats a really nice picture there Aly I really like it

There is a 50.00 us entrance fee
You have to submit them on a cd or dvd
If you look at what images there looking for I don't think that picture would qualify

Bea
10-28-2007, 10:26 PM
Well from what i can gather, you would pretty much want to be using a DSLR camera to enter that, the image size and resolution for final judging is much much higher than what you could get out of a point and shoot. I could be wrong though.

Laura
10-28-2007, 11:31 PM
Well from what i can gather, you would pretty much want to be using a DSLR camera to enter that, the image size and resolution for final judging is much much higher than what you could get out of a point and shoot. I could be wrong though.

Thats what I was getting well sort of anyways...lol I didn't know what kind of camera but it seemed a little more technical ;)

Aly
10-29-2007, 11:26 AM
This sucks....:(

Laura
10-29-2007, 12:10 PM
This sucks....:(

I'm sorry your having such a hard time finding something, don't give up its something you love to do ;)