Cockatiel Articles

Talk Network
Talk Budgies
Talk Cockatiels
Talk Parrotlets
Talk Parrots

Go Back   Talk Cockatiels Forums > Cockatiels > Training and Bonding

Notices

Training and Bonding Give and recieve tips on training and bonding with your cockatiel here.

Closed Thread

Old 12-28-2016, 05:22 PM
Egg

Cockatiel Information
Number of Cockatiels: 2
Cockatiel Experience Level: Cockatiel Lover
Abstdh is on a distinguished road
Default Tiel dislikes stepping up and going out

Hello! This is my first time posting on this website. I'm a proud mother of two tiels, Fluffi (4 yrs old) and Sunny (2 yrs old).

I've been through a ton of stuff in the last year and haven't had a chance to bond with the birds a lot —mostly 15 minutes a day if that, longer on the weekends. Sunny was completely fine with those arrangements and is happy with the extra attention I've been able to give the birds recently, but Fluffi wasn't.

She's not scared of my hands; she'll happily accept scratches, as long as it's when I'm sticking a finger through the cage bars. I've worked with her the past month to the point where she'll (cautiously) let me pet her when I open te cage door and use my whole hand to pet her, but she absolutely will not allow being petted outside of the cage.

Fluffi also dislikes stepping up; she will sometimes, but she's verrrrrry wary about it. If I have her step up when she's inside the cage, it's nearly impossible unless there's a lot of food involved. Any time I offer her my finger (I don't force it on her), she hisses and/or runs away. If I have her step up when she's outside, she does it five times out of ten. If she does, she flies away 1 second later. I can't hold her or even have her standing on my hand for while.

This wan't always the case— when she was a baby (3 months old), she was fine with it, but after I had to spend less time with them, she closed up. I know this is my fault, and I'm hoping to undo the damage.